1969 Trailswest Campster - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-01-2009, 03:38 PM   #1

Trailer: 1969 Trailswest Campster
Hello Everyone,
I am a newbie on the site. Joe and I just became the proud owners of the 1969 Trailswest Campster that Harry Young has been talking about. As he said, it made the trip from California with only a few problems. He then spent 7-8 hours cleaning it of the dead birds, wasps, bird nests and everything else that had set up housekeeping as well as taking the lichen off the top. Just proves what a good friend he is. I finally got to see the beast yesterday and Joe and my son spent the afternoon taking the interior out. Pictures will be coming from Harry or me. We are looking forward to restoring it to the way we would like but have to do some repairs. The floor by the door is cracked and has a lot of give. There are other smaller cracks that we have seen. We are planning on redoing the frame to eliminate the problem with the floor in the future. Then it is redoing the shell, replacing broken windows then having the fun with the inside. We have ideas on what we would like to do and will probably rethink ideas as we go. Since I have been watching Harry redoing his and Joe has been assisting in some ways, we know what we are looking at. The planning has already started. I have spent the last week looking through posts and love some of the things that have been shown. We will keep everyone updated on our progress and will be looking forward to any advise that is given. The next step is bringing her home and into the garage so we can really get her started. Harry lives 1 hour from us so it is difficult to go up frequently to work on her. The beast will be a beauty sometime soon.