1987 Cadet 13' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-26-2006, 05:46 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I am new to owning trailers (camped in a tent trailer as a kid).

Anyhow, I have located a nice Cadet 13' model that I can pull with my station wagon. Can anyone tell me if they have ever seen bunks installed (custom) like you would find in a 13' boler?

I am trying to not buy a tent trailer, but if the bunks can't be done, I might have to....

Looking for insight and any comments are appreciated!

Thanks,
Kanata1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 08:48 AM   #2

Trailer: Former Burro owner and fan!
Registry
I am not sure the floor plan of a Cadet would allow that. You MAY be able to rig a bunk above the bed ala old Shasta style.. take a look at Shasta vintage campers and see what they have done there.

The sides of the Shasta are stick built tho, and may be more sturdy for this arrangement.

Why not just get a Boler or more traditional egg... I know, I know.. hard to find!
Gina D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:05 AM   #3

the choice for me is between this or a tent trailer. Tent trailers have several considerations between models, and I always worry about maintenance of canvas, and other things.

I was thinking of seeing if the front overhead storage could be moved to the back of the trailer, to make room for a slightly curved overhead bunk with a stick fram built in oak or baltic ply wood materials (for strength). Even with the weight this adds, it would not bring the trailer over 950lbs, which is really comfortable for pulling.

The other consideration is the size and whether it would be cramped. Thanks for the input!

I am now looking for Shasta trailer site for pics...

Quote: