Absolutely no way to treat a customer! - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2013, 12:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Name: Tony
Trailer: currently shopping
Arizona
Posts: 14
Absolutely no way to treat a customer!

After about 7 month's of placing an order for a Parkliner and with dozens of inquiries being completely ignored (email, phone calls and regular mail) I finally realized that I was being jacked around and wrote a letter to Parkliner to cancel my order and refund my deposit. Still after a month (Yup! You guessed it!) Absolutely no response.
__________________

__________________
Tony Rubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 12:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Carol H's Avatar
 
Name: Carol
Trailer: 22' Airstream Formerly 16' Scamp
British Columbia
Posts: 11,731
Registry
Tony I feel for you! Hope you get your money back! Your experience and those that others have posted regarding their dealings with Parkline is really in sharp contrast to the posts made by those who order from Escape for example. Not only are the Escape purchasers given a pretty good target del'v date but they get photos of their trailers sent to them as the trailer is being built..... Seems to be a really big contrast between two companies philosophy of customer service.

I appreciate that the Escape is a more expensive trailer and that's why the Parkliner is more appealing to many here but I for the fun of it the other day looked at the Parkliner order sheet and then added in the items that come stock on a base Escape (all of which I personally would want on the most basic of trailers I was to order ) and funny enough the price of the Parkliner jumped right up there into the same price range - even though Parkliner did not even offer on their option list some of the big ticket items that are stock on the base model of an Escape (an awning being one item I recall).

Now I know the actual pricing of the Parkline and the lack of communication and the known history of build issues it leaves me even more puzzled as to why anyone feels they need to put up with such poor customer service & buy from Parkliner.

Not bashing Parkliner folks just putting some thoughts out there from the bleachers as someone who is also considering a new trailer. Cant figure out what the heck am I missing....
__________________

Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Robin G's Avatar
 
Trailer: 2007 Casita
Posts: 3,440
Sorry to hear of yet another issue with Parkliner. And you are right, it's no way to treat anyone! Even if you were only purchasing a $20 item much less a several thousand dollar item that you have dreamed and planned for. I am sorry for your frustration.

Many of us have been rooting for them. But frankly after everything I have read I am beginning to question why? The frustration alone would turn me off!

Hope you get a resolution to your issue soon! And hope you get to experience glass ownership in the near future ...........
__________________
Robin G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve and Rosemary
Trailer: 89 Scamp 16 ft side toilet
Utah
Posts: 184
I, for one, am usually more apt to pay more for something if it means I'll get a higher level of service, but that's just me.

Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Scamp comes in as far as pricing goes? Ours is an old/vintage one and I've always been curious what a new one goes for these days.
__________________
SERENITY 1989 Scamp 16' Side Toilet | Steve, Rosemary, Maude Pod & Tripawd Hope | Next trip: The Weber for some fishing
Moab Maiden Voyage 03/10 * The Swell 5/26/11 * Antelope Island 12/31/11 * Strawberry Res 6/12 * Whitney Res 6/14 * Uintahs 07/15 * East Fork of Black's 06/16
Steve and Rosemary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:52 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Alberta
Posts: 4,727
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve and Rosemary View Post
I, for one, am usually more apt to pay more for something if it means I'll get a higher level of service, but that's just me.
For a hassle free and smooth transaction, complete with good follow up service, I think many of us feel the same.
__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA (January 26)
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:59 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Name: Bill and Bronwyn
Trailer: awaiting new ParkLiner
Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
We are having the very same experience. Actually a bit stranger even, The owner sent us an Email telling us "our Park liner would be ready to pick upOct. 25th at the very latest, maybe even earlier!" We asked for a final figure
for payment and prepared to make the 7 hour trip but guess what!? You guessed
it no response to multiple efforts on our part. He is totally in a class by himself
For poor customer service!
__________________
Willyb40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Carol H's Avatar
 
Name: Carol
Trailer: 22' Airstream Formerly 16' Scamp
British Columbia
Posts: 11,731
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve and Rosemary View Post
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Scamp comes in as far as pricing goes? Ours is an old/vintage one and I've always been curious what a new one goes for these days.
Unfortunately Scamp does not have their pricing on line as the other two brands I did the comparison on so you will need to call or email to get the pricing so you can put pen to paper and do a side by side comparison of the brands as to whats stock and whats optional and the costs. Just as it is with cars, some brands include items in their standard models that others do not, if you want all the bells and whistles the price can quickly climb.
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
Scamp Prices

I believe you can get an order/price sheet from the Scamp home page. But as I remember, they are taking a lesson from the airlines, everything is an option, even after 40 years of building the same equivalent of a DC-3.

At his point I think it would be foolish for anyone to put in a deposit for a new Parkliner until their business is sorted out and funded.
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Carol H's Avatar
 
Name: Carol
Trailer: 22' Airstream Formerly 16' Scamp
British Columbia
Posts: 11,731
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willyb58 View Post
The owner sent us an Email telling us "our Park liner would be ready to pick upOct. 25th at the very latest, maybe even earlier!" We asked for a final figure
for payment and prepared to make the 7 hour trip but guess what!? You guessed
it no response to multiple efforts on our part. He is totally in a class by himself
For poor customer service!
hummm its Oct 29th? Is it safe to assume you dont have your trailer yet?
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Name: Ken
Trailer: No Trailer Yet
US
Posts: 1,564
Thanks Tony Rubi and Willyb58 for sharing your info.
__________________
Ken C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
deryk's Avatar
 
Name: deryk
Trailer: 2012 Parkliner 2010 V6 Nissan Frontier 4x4
New Jersey
Posts: 2,086
Registry
Tony, I can feel your pain about them returning calls/emails. I spent months trying to get in contact with them in regards to the vented battery issue, as well as the tire rub. Right now Im not experiencing the rub problems like some with the 2nd axle they went with...but, when my axle starts to sag a little I will be in the same boat in a few years looking at a replacement vs 12-15 years down the road..

I ended up fileing with the North Carolina Better Business Bureau, as well as North Carolina Consumer Protection group...If enough people file against them they will need to do something.

With those 2 issues aside I am happy with my ParkLiner...it is well constructed and I hear they are getting alot of orders so if they are so busy hire some people to return calls. I posted a few things on their FaceBook page which got deleted then I got a private message from Cameron..I responded, a week later still no message back. Its sad because I saw them haveing alot of potential but now I really wonder.
__________________
deryk

All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost.... J.R.R. Tolkien
deryk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,029
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
The answer is the Good Sam resolution hotline where they contact the company and print your problem and the company response in their magazine.
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 04:30 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Byron Kinnaman's Avatar
 
Name: Byron
Trailer: 2006 Scamp 13' towed with a 2005 Dodge Dakota 4.7l Magnum W/full tow package (over kill)
Oregon
Posts: 6,311
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve and Rosemary View Post
I, for one, am usually more apt to pay more for something if it means I'll get a higher level of service, but that's just me.

Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Scamp comes in as far as pricing goes? Ours is an old/vintage one and I've always been curious what a new one goes for these days.
Scamp is probably the lowest priced of the molded fiberglass trailers. Their base price is for a very basic unit. Then add options to get what you think you will use. I bought mine in late 2005. Basic cost was under 8K, by the time I got through it was 10,500 including 1500 for delivery. Somebody on here pointed out they had gotten a quote for one that included bath and AC for about 13000. Give them a call and get price sheets and build your own trailer to suit you. If there's something you think you might like that's not on the price sheet call and ask.
__________________
Byron & Anne enjoying the everyday Saturday thing.
Byron Kinnaman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 04:35 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Mike Magee's Avatar
 
Name: Michael
Trailer: Li'l Hauley
Oklahoma
Posts: 5,142
I have a Scamp price sheet, but it's from late 2010.... I'm sure stuff has gone up since.
__________________

__________________
How much time do we have left? 2 Chr. 7:14
Mike Magee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Customer Service SHOULD Work Bob Miller General Chat 1 10-09-2013 10:40 PM
Scamp customer service Perry J General Chat 7 10-01-2011 01:09 PM
Great Customer Service Sharon G General Chat 3 05-13-2010 11:35 PM
Trick Or Treat!!!! Gina D. General Chat 20 11-03-2008 03:01 PM
Dometic customer service Al & Cindy K General Chat 0 03-15-2006 08:28 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.