Bigfoot and the Nogin Dome - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2009, 04:54 PM   #1

Trailer: Casita
When I was in Quartzite last year, Oliver had a show of their wares.
I forget what size Oliver I was in but they had the same noggin dome as does my Casita 17.
Had Casita not had that bump I would not have purchased it (your personal height and the inside height of your egg notwithstanding, head room is very important to me)
So anyway, the Oliver sales lady (I assume the owners wife) was telling someone about the noggin dome, "it increases the structural strength".
Perhaps your intuition tells you she was right but if not, as a mechanical engineer, I can assure you it does!
The Oliver and the casita have an extreme amount of vertical load carrying ability due to the vertical noggin dome.. perhaps even an increase in horizontal stress capabilities.

But..

How much of that strength is necessary?
Do Bigfoots have a noggin dome or a flat roof?
Do escapes have a noggin dome or a flat roof?

Do escapes or bigfoots suffer stress and fatigue cracks over time with a 100 lb air conditioner vibrating and bouncing on a flat roof?

This question goes arm in arm with an obvious truth: if you extend the noggin dome out to the very edge as does Escape it increases the room inside substantially.
It increases the height of overhead cabinets.
It takes away one of he worst design features of the Casita, the LOW (too low) overhead stove vent.

your thoughts?
ronsmith100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 05:19 PM   #2

Trailer: 1974 Boler 13 ft (Neonex/Winnipeg)
Quote:
So anyway, the Oliver sales lady (I assume the owners wife) was telling someone about the noggin dome...your thoughts?
Maybe she owns the company (too)...
Raya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 05:38 PM   #3

Trailer: 2007 19 ft Escape 5.0 / 2002 GMC (1973 Boler project)
Registry