Buying a new old Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2016, 08:26 PM   #1

Name: Connor
Trailer: Scamp
Arkansas
Buying a new old Scamp

Hi I am new to Scamp. I have had an older Starcraft that I had zero issues with. I have found and managed to place a hold on a 1977 13' in Colorado. The seller states that it has sat for 10 years and it has no leaks. I am going to replace the tires before I pull it back, but what other things do I need to look for?
I have heard the axle will need to be replaced but how do I know for sure? Is the axle something that is a must to be replaced to pull back or it is simply for the ride of the camper? The seller says the floor is solid and there is no rust on the frame but I have requested some pictures to be sure.
I really appreciate any help in advanced and sorry if this is not the correct place to post this!
Connor
con57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:47 AM   #2

Name: Jennifer
Trailer: Burro
Idaho
Ask whether they resealed the windows and vents themselves and with what. It may not have apparent leaks, but if it has original silicone sealant you should plan on re-sealing. Ours supposedly didn't have leaks either until we drove home last week in pouring rain, and discovered that our Burro was actually a sieve. Fun stuff.
jwjenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 10:14 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry