Cable Cutter - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2015, 04:30 PM   #1

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Cable Cutter

For 12 years we traveled with Dish Satellite TV. It worked very well but was expensive about $80 a month.

Our primary driver was Women's College Basketball. We have been fans of UConn basketball since I was a grad student at UConn. The UConn women have been in the national championship game 10 of the last 20 years, never losing in the finals.

We wanted to watch them one year and couldn't, that clinched Dish TV for us.

This year we dropped Dish TV and added the following over the Internet, NetFlix $8/month, Amazon Prime NC, Hulu Plus $7, CBS Online $6 and Sling box ESPN plus numerous other stations $20.

We will keep Sling Box because it show's virtually every UConn game but may drop some of the others due to a measure of redundancy between the services. None of them require a contract.

As well we have a small HDTV antenna for local channels. All comes over our Verizon Internet.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 05:52 PM   #2

Name: Lyle
Trailer: '95 17ft Bigfoot
British Columbia
How many GB do you burn in a month. We have a jetpack with a 10GB plan and have to really watch what we use otherwise we easily go overage.
I would love to ditch our satellite but more GB with Verizon would cost us more than what satellite is.
stillwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 06:17 PM   #3

Florida
Lyle,

We are fortunate to have an unlimited data plan on Verizon 3G. 3G seems like it's fast enough most of the time to deliver good quality video. I assume partially because fewer people are using 3G. In the first 13 days of the month we've used 22 GBytes mostly watching Netflix, it's new to us and we've been watching a series or two a night.