Casita vs Bigfoot MPG - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-21-2013, 05:54 PM   #1
Kjs

Name: Kurt
Trailer: Shopping
Pennsylvania
Casita vs Bigfoot MPG

I have no experience with either of these trailers and would like your opinions on what the difference in MPG would be in towing the two? Eventually, we want to go on a 6 month trip and I am torn between these two trailers as they both have their good points. Leaning towards the Bigfoot 17 due to its 4 season availability but cannot seem to stop debating the two. Thanks
Kjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Ian
Trailer: 1974 Boler 1300 - 2014 Escape 19'
Alberta
Registry
MPG is so dependant of tow vehicle, driving style, terrain, and so many factors. The difference in fuel economy in towing either of these trailers would be so minimal that I would get the trailer that best fits your needs and likes.
Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 06:58 PM   #3

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Nothing against the Bigfoot, but the four season ability would hardly be a factor in my vote unlesss it were free. Generally we try to avoid the winter situation. Even traveling to Newfoundland and Labrador in the spring as we are, the four season ability is simply not needed.

As to MPG, it's frontal area and shape that are the deciding factors. We have towed both a Scamp and a Casita for long distances and though the Casita weighed about 10% more thna the Scamp w could see little or no difference in miles per gallon.