Converter/Battery Charger - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2008, 09:35 PM   #1

Trailer: Casita 17 ft Freedom Deluxe 2008 / Toyota Hawaiighlander
Just ordered a 17' Casita Freedom and it comes with a "converter/battery charger". I am new to trailer/rv life and don't understand a lot. I get it that the converter/charger will alow me to use lights and appliances while on shore power. What I don't know is how does the battery get charged back up after dry camping. Is there some way that my tow vehicle does the recharge or do I need to hook back up to shore power?
I am not planning on getting a generator as I hope to be mostly in sites with at least electric.
Pat M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 05:28 AM   #2

Trailer: Casita Spirit Deluxe 2003 16 ft
Registry
Converter/chargers are usually rated at some number of 12 volt amps. 45 is typical for Casita I believe.

When you are plugged in, the converter will provide the amps needed to run your 12 volts gadgets. Say you are running a couple lights and the fan, you might be using 5 amps. That leaves up to 40 amps (45 less 5) to recharge the battery. However, the battery will seldom use that much. A 50% depleted battery might use 13-15 amps at the start of recharging (it slowly drops down as the battery fills up). This leaves plenty for your 12v appliances.

Usually, there is a 120 volt side to the converter as well. It provides the power that is converted to 12v for those uses described above and it provides power to the normal 120v outlets as well.
I'm a man, but I can change, if I have to, I guess.
Steve L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2008, 12:44 PM   #3

Trailer: Eggcamper 2007 ('Wolf's Lair')
Quote: