Count the cost(and the intent) - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2016, 10:43 AM   #21

Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escape— 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Braun View Post
I think the Wisconsin State Parks are one of the best deals out there. They have some some of the best outdoor locations for camping I have seen in my travels. I think they have a great staff of dedicated state employees and many have active "friends" organizations.

I much prefer the Wisconsin parks over those of neighboring states, and based on the number of out of state visitors there are a lot of those who agree. I have never balked at paying their fees as I have always associated value with what I received in return.

Now being a resident I do pay fees that are lower than non residents, but I do pay taxes, and substantial ones, to be a resident. I do not find the fees in this state much different than those beautiful provincial parks, where I also find value. Also, the state parks are still better priced when compared to private campgrounds.
You and I live in the same state and our vision of the State of Wisconsin is 180 deg apart . This forum is not the place for a discussion on that subject
My point was that with the increased camping fees , increased entrance fees , increased activities fees , increased reservation fees, plus the adding of state sales tax on all of the above , you have raised the price to a point where many Wisconsin citizens can not afford to visit their own parks.
Wisconsin has deferred necessary park maintenance / upgrades for many years due to lack of money and now they have cut their funding further. We have been to Wisconsin State Parks where the water was unfit to drink , so they shut the water off .