Crazy Idea? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-11-2010, 01:07 AM   #1

Trailer: Burro 13 ft
Hi All,

I'm new here and have lurked for awhile, enjoying the friendly community.

I have an idea for a project that may seem a little odd to some but upon initial consideration, solves a few problems for me. I have a 92 dodge diesel flatbed truck that i use for work. I'm going for a month long trip through Alaska and thought it would be interesting to take an egg trailer off it's trailer frame and mount it to my flatbed for the trip. I've never had a trailer, always been a tent camper and don't like the idea of dragging a trailer. I design and build furniture for a living so have a complete metal and wood shop and am not afraid to adapt anything for my purposes.

So aside from the obvious issue of why I wouldn't want to pull the thing as is, what issues might be involved with this? I know I'll need a ladder to get to the door and that the trailer top will be higher than usual, anything else? I was thinking there may be a way to to adapt the trailer frame so that I could easily remove the pod with my forklift and set it on the mobile trailer to be pulled by my other truck for other occasions. I ride and race mtn. bikes, dirt bikes and a car so need the flexibility to mix things up for different occasions. for instance, last weekend I dragged a race car on a dolly behind my truck and could have used the pod as my snore chamber(if it were on my flatbed). Or, I could pull the trailer and park it at a campsite with a bunch of bike on the flatbed to journey to other locations to ride. The options are mind boggling!

Sorry for the long post and thanks for your thoughts!

Kyle
kyle minor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:16 AM   #2

Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2001 Casita Spirit Deluxe (I'm down to 2!)