DVD's TV's Etc. - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2005, 11:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Trailer: 2005 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to christineb
I'm wondering about a getting a portable DVD player for the Scamp. We actually have a little TV/video player, but by the time we get it on the counter, nothing else fits, so we have to take it in and out of the car..........a bit cumbersome. Then.......I thought about a laptop with DVD/wifi..........hmmm. Then I can keep up with e-mail and this forum!! Perfect. Except..........price......yikes! I guess the laptop won't pick up TV though.
Anyone had any experience with any of these toys?

Christine
__________________

__________________
christineb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 11:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
I have a TV/Video 12volt/110volt.I bought a laptop a while back with wifi and dvd.I now intend to use the Laptop.I also beleive you can purchase a adaptor so you can also pick up tv stations.I am still looking into that application.
__________________

__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 05:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Lex M's Avatar
 
Trailer: BIOD Bambi 1980
Posts: 273
Registry
Quote:
Originally posted by Chester Taje@Nov 17 2005, 06:23 AM
I now intend to use the Laptop.I also beleive you can purchase a adaptor so you can also pick up tv stations.
I've got this usb device.
It works
Attached Images
 
__________________
Happy trails,
RiLex
Travelled NA withBIOD 400TL 1990
Lex M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 11:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
Thanks Lex.Much appreciated
__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 12:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Donna D.'s Avatar
 
Name: Donna D
Trailer: Escape 5.0 TA, 2014
Oregon
Posts: 24,433
I'm sure everyone knows about the problems Sony Music is going through right now with the security issue when running Sony music CD's on laptops, computers, etc. I heard a news report this morning that this is becoming a worse case scenerio....there's a possibility you could absolutely fry your machine.

See Sony BMG Click on the link "Information on XCP Content Protection" at the bottom of the screen for a sanitized press release.

This is gonna cost Sony $$$$$$$
__________________
Donna D.
Ten Forward - 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Double Yolk - 1988 16' Scamp Deluxe
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 01:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Trailer: Former Casita 17 ft owner
Posts: 1,498
I have the same thing as Lex. Of course his is probably PAL format rather than NTSC.

I haven't used mine yet. My firstborn has one and they love it.
__________________
Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 01:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Roger H's Avatar
 
Name: Roger
Trailer: Y2K6 Born Free 32RQ on the Kodiak chassis, 1995 Coachmen 19' B-van and 1996 Precision 21' Sailboat
Iowa
Posts: 5,000
I use the Leadtek box with my laptop... similar function.

WinFast TV USB II Deluxe

BTW, investigating the Sony link, there are only 52 CD titles that have the proprietary software in question. It appears (somebody correct me if I've misinterpreted this) that the software links to Sony and sends data back to them.

Roger
Attached Thumbnails
multimedia.2.jpg  
__________________
Roger H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 01:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
Do these adapters work from ant and or cable hook ups.Will they also work from sat dish receiver?
__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Roger H's Avatar
 
Name: Roger
Trailer: Y2K6 Born Free 32RQ on the Kodiak chassis, 1995 Coachmen 19' B-van and 1996 Precision 21' Sailboat
Iowa
Posts: 5,000
Ches, they're basically just a TV tuner. I get in trouble every time I say something without checking it first... but I thinkYou can feed the output through a satellite reciever. Hmm... maybe not... the antenna input is standard, but control input and signal output is through USB... I haven't used mine in a while... now I dunno... I'll check it for sure and get back to you...

Roger
__________________
Roger H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
Thanks
__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Lex M's Avatar
 
Trailer: BIOD Bambi 1980
Posts: 273
Registry
Quote:
Originally posted by Chester Taje@Nov 17 2005, 08:56 PM
Do these adapters work from ant and or cable hook ups.Will they also work from sat dish receiver?
Never tried it.
But, my satellite tuner is to be connected to a tv-set by means of a scart cable.
There is no scart-in in the adapter, so satellite-input seems to be impossible.
The tv-set that is ment to be connected to my satellite tuner, does not have a scart-input too. That is why I use an intermediate device i.c. a videorecorder with a scart-input between the tv-set and the satellite tuner. A little complicated, but it works
Probably the WinTV device may be connected to the satelite tuner in the same way (I never tried it).
__________________
Happy trails,
RiLex
Travelled NA withBIOD 400TL 1990
Lex M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 02:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
Thanks Lex--Good information.
__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 03:24 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
Has anyone tried this.
http://www.inklineglobal.com/adsales/googl...est.html?mcp=CA
__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 11:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Trailer: 2005 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to christineb
Quote:
Originally posted by Lex Meuldijk+Nov 17 2005, 11:36 AM-->
Quote:
<!--QuoteBegin-Chester Taje
Quote:
@Nov 17 2005, 06:23 AM
[b] I now intend to use the Laptop.I also beleive you can purchase a adaptor so you can also pick up tv stations.
I've got this usb device.
It works
I feel kinda stupid here,but can't figure out how this thing works.
I see it plugs into the computer, I do know what a USB port is, but...........then where does it go?
christine
__________________

__________________
christineb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.