GPS or old school paper maps for you? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2014, 12:59 PM   #1

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
GPS or old school paper maps for you?

I am not new to traveling, nor camping. But I am new to traveling very far to camp. My "back seater" is an eleven year old and not really up to the task of much navigating yet. My front seat companion is only six years old and can't read, of course she is a dog which is a legitimate excuse. Anyway, it is not much fun for me trying to read a map, see where I am going, look at neat stuff along the way, all while looking out for folks trying to run over us and the Scamp.

I have good maps and an Atlas that generally gets me where I am going but last week a bud loaned me his Garman GPS to play with. I like it, I like it a lot. I have only messed with it around town but it works well and is not annoying at all. I have ordered a similar model and hope to hit the road with it soon. I will still plan my trip with paper maps but as long as the GPS acts right I think it will be a valuable addition to my road paraphernalia. Do you use a GPS unit, and how accurate have you found it on long trips over unknown terrain?
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 01:22 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
I have used my Garmin GPSall over North America as well as for 2 months in western Europe and, 99% of the time, it got me where I needed to go. That said, it didn't always take me the way I wanted to go.... so.... I always use a paper map to get a general idea of where I want to go and any mid points along the way, then I head that way and let the GPS (hopefully) keep me from being lost.

If I want a location 500 miles away I consult the maps, and then only turn the gps on for the more detailed parts.

Several GPS drawback will include: