Honest appraisal of value of old eggs - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-03-2014, 01:29 PM   #1

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Honest appraisal of value of old eggs

Having recently purchased an older Scamp (1988) and having started the rehab process I felt moved to post this for those thinking about buying an older “egg”. I bought a fairly solid rig and still have spent upwards of $2,000 additional hard cash, and have probably invested at least that much more in un-paid “sweat equity” just to get it road worthy, dry, and usable. I have kept scrupulous records to capture every penny spent just so I would not be fooled by missing those little expenditures that can really add up. I am a Carpenter by trade and have all the tools and equipment, including welding tools, to do all the repairs/upgrades otherwise my cash investment in rehabbing the old Scamp would be much greater.

I don’t want to turn anybody off from buying and fixing up an old egg. Far from it I want every egg to be loved and enjoyed and saved for the future, like their inherently sturdy timeless designs allow (with reasonable maintenance). My fear is an escalation of “perceived” values (prices) in the marketplace because our old eggs are so great. People, both buyers and sellers, need to have an honest view of the real value of these machines. And old machines that need a lot of work and upgrading should be valued accordingly.

Old 07-03-2014, 01:43 PM   #2

Name: Carl
Trailer: 1994 Scamp 16
Arkansas
Timber,
I am glad that you have the tools and energy for these rebuilding projects! I use to love doing rebuilds and making things better than new. Age has a way of changing ones mind! Now I do not look for projects like yours. But, I think you are a wonderful person to tackle this project! It would be great to see some pictures of before and after? That is if you have time?
Thank you, I hope you project turns out better than you thought!
Carl

Old 07-03-2014, 03:08 PM   #3

Name: Dave W