How much HANDY ??? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-30-2015, 09:11 AM   #1

Name: Raj
Trailer: Escape Trailer - SOLD
Florida
How much HANDY ???

Hi, a Newbie here,

I am starting to look around for a used fiberglass RV to start my retirement travels.

Among other things my incapability to get things done/fix handy things around the house is putting a cramp in my excitement to RV and is the reason for this question to other forum members.

I & my wife do not know whether we will take to RVing in real life as I have been living the pleasure vicariously on the various RV forums/websites/in a digital format so far. That was the main reason for getting a used RV, as the worse scenario will not hurt as much

HOW HANDY ARE YOU around the RV or how Handy does one NEED to RV.

Or is it a good idea to just go ahead & buy a new trailer, hoping to at least avoid these challenges in part.

- Or did you learn(You tube/google/RV camps) the skills as you traveled & get only major things fixed at the RV places.

Thanks for any output from the members.

Regards
disneydoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 09:43 AM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Sounds like you are asking the right questions.....
It's all about condition, condition and condition, Many FGRV's are now over 40 years old and are still going down the road with minimal repairs done/needed. On the other hand, a few that I have seen that are less than 5 years old, are in need of major repairs. BUT, if you get a good one first, and take care of it, maintenance and repair expenses will be minimal.

As you, basically, want to try a "trial experience" with minimal $$$ risk, may I make the following suggestion.