Medical insurance in Canada vs US - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-08-2003, 08:47 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Medical insurance in Canada vs US

This came up in another thread ... and in some private messages ... but I thought I'd bring it up in it's own thread.

How do Canadians cover their health insurance while traveling in the US?

How do folks from the US cover their health insurance while traveling in Canada?

I'm no expert, so you'll have to seek the advise of your private insurer ... or if you are covered by Medicare or Canadian's federal medical insurance, ask them.

But in my case, my health insurance isn't honored in Canada.

If I get sick in Canada, I have to paid the bill ... and then seek reimbursement from my insurance company when I return to the states.

This wasn't a problem when Pam had a nasty reaction to a bug bite in Canada a few years ago. The emergency room bill, because medical care is subsidized by the government, wasn't all that large.

But, we always pray that we don't get seriously ill while traveling.

Now, it's also my understanding that if you are covered by the US Medicare system, you have to be dragged back into the US before Medicare will cover the bill.

Canadians have the option of paying a small premium to extend their federal health care to the US (right?).

But I don't think there is any option for US folks to extend Medicare coverage while traveling outside the US. You might get some coverage from a Medicare supplement policy.

At least this is my understanding of how it works.

Please tell me if I'm wrong (because it won't be the first time I was wrong today!).

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 08:58 AM   #2