My first trip to a FG meet. - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2013, 09:44 PM   #1

Name: Mitchell
Trailer: Shopping
Ontario
My first trip to a FG meet.

Hi
I was at the Long Beach Bolerama July 12/2013 (only day I could come).I am a newbie and do not own an egg. So I thought this would be a great place to start. I seen that most of them (90%) were 13 feet. I expected to see larger ones ( I was surprized). I guess they were from the 70's or 80's and the outside condition looked extremely good. I am looking at getting a new Scamp 16', height of 7' 10". However I would like 3 mods to be made in the factory for it. 1) Encapsulate the wood floor in fiberglass. 2) Change the frame guage from 11 to 10. 3) Increase floor thickness by 1/8" more. I wonder if they can do this?

I seen a huge Boler that looked out of place. It must of been 18 feet and was tall. Any specs on this one.

I am from the Big City and there are bylaws what you can park on your driveway. But I can keep it on my property as long as it is in my garage. Garage door is 10 feet wide. The height of door is 7 feet. However I have to check with the city and see if a door height of 8 feet is legal ( I think it is) I will squeeze the height to 8' 1.75" or maybe 8' 4" if it is possible.

I hope my health does not get worse so I can actually buy one.
RETIRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:36 PM   #2

Name: kootenai girl
Trailer: 1976 Trillium 1300
British Columbia
Good luck in your search. You will find that Scamp do not do the type of alterations you are asking for. You may want to check out Escape trailers in BC, a little pricier but the customer has more input and they have the fiberglass floor.
They did make a larger Boler a 17 footer.
Escape Trailer Industries > Home
kootenaigirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 08:32 PM   #3

Ontario
Scamp vs Escape