New Escape 17 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2008, 02:32 AM   #1

Trailer: Escape 17 ft 2008
I just picked up a new 2008 Escape 17 Plan "C". I put the C in parens because it is a new model designed around my plans. Reace and Tammy at Escape were very accomodating and patient while we worked out the details of my modifications. Essentially it is one of their Plan B's with the head/shower replaced with closets, drawers and a porta-potty storage. I also had a 4" lift and extended rear bumper for more suitability for off-road use. I will post a photo or two soon. I will be full-timing in this rig so extra storage was important.

I have been full-timing for 4 years now. I started out with a Jayco 21' (too heavy) pulled with a Tundra (low fuel mileage) but fell in love with Sportsmobile 4X4 vans and soon bought one. Full-timing and every day driving in this heavy duty rig has grown uncomfortable after 3 years, so now it is for sale.

I hope to buy a Toyota Tacoma or possibly an FJ Cruiser as my my new tow vehicle. My trailer will weigh about 2800# loaded (my estimate) and the two 4X4's listed above are rated at 6500 and 5000 towing, but I have never paid much attention to those often exagerated ratings. Anybody have any real experience with either rig towing a comparable trailer? I should explain that I am concered about horsepower as I really don't want to be loafing up those grades or struggling to merge/pass safely.

Alan "Ace" Brown
Grand Rivers, KY when not on the road (seldom not)
Presently traveling down the Oregon coast.

Ace Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:48 AM   #2

Trailer: 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel Dlx / 2001 Ford Ranger 4x4
congrats on you getting a brand new trailer!! Lucky you!!
Christi V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 09:30 AM   #3

Trailer: 17 ft Escape