Planning a trip to Alaska - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-28-2015, 08:37 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Planning a trip to Alaska

I'd like to visit Alaska, Spring 2016. Planning this trip seems intimidating. Can someone just give me a push in the right direction? I'd like to plan a route that covers a reasonable area.

Thanks
Martin B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 08:54 PM   #2

Name: Gilda
Trailer: 2011 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
Although I've taken a fabulous cruise to Alaska on Princess this is my first time planning a driving/camping trip. I, too, am having a hard time knowing where to start. Many folks swear by a book called "Mileposts". I do not have a copy yet but will get it soon. It is updated every year. I like the information on road trips on the National Geographic website, National Geographic: Images of Animals, Nature, and Cultures. There seem to be only 2 major roads in Alaska; one near the coast and one inland.

Will you tow your FGRV? Where do you live? How many days do you want your trip to be?

Although we have a FGRV we want to avoid the long ride TO Alaska and back. We live in California and want to rent a campervan and drive it one way from Anchorage or Fairbanks to Seattle, WA. RV rentals available seem to be on the large side. I haven't found any campervans yet.
Gilda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 08:59 PM   #3

California
Registry
I've also seen the book "Alaskan Camping" by the Church's to be informative.
Old 08-28-2015, 09:19 PM   #4

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilda View Post