Pricing strategies on a Hymer Touring GT - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2019, 07:29 PM   #1

Name: John
Trailer: Cycle-Kamp!
Oregon
Pricing strategies on a Hymer Touring GT

OK I’m new at the trailer buying game and I need some advice on ‘dealings’ on fiberglass trailers with RV dealers. I was considering a Hymer Touring GT fiberglass trailer, but the $34,000 price seemed a bit extreme for what you get in a trailer.
Move forward a few months, and Hymer North America, the maker of the new to market Hymer Touring GT has collapsed and gone out of production leaving ‘orphan’ Touring GTs out there at RV dealerships. A dealer in the Willamette Valley in Oregon has 3 of them sitting on their lot. They have cut the price on their Hymers from $34,000 to $29,000, but that still seems a lot for a new fiberglass trailer that no longer has a trailer warranty!
Is there a ‘bargain’ here ($15,000-$20,000 offer on the orphan trailer) or best to stay away from a new model trailer that will not have a parts or factory support? Remember I’m a newbie—I’m checking with you experts on this! Thanks in advance!
Karmantra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 07:35 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Stove, furnace, fridge etc. will be covered by each appliance manufacturer's warranty. I don't know what was covered by Hymer that could go wrong ( cupboard hinges? ).
Old 03-13-2019, 07:50 PM   #3

Name: Justus
Trailer: Currently Shopping
California
Karmantra, I have been watching these too. I think you'd get laughed off the lot if you offered 50%-66% of the already reduced asking price of these trailers at this point. Here is one at the "fire sale" price of $24,000 (plus dealer fees): https://www.alpinhausrv.com/--xInven...inventory-link.