Really, I tried to buy local and have it done - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-18-2015, 10:51 AM   #1

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Really, I tried to buy local and have it done

I have a real gem of a machine for my “daily driver”. It is an old Toyota Corolla Station Wagon my Mother gifted to me when she inherited a newer Camry. Anyway, I have been driving the Corolla for a few years with no repairs at all, just oil changes. Sometime last year the exhaust manifold cracked, right in two although it took a while to finish completely breaking. Soon after I noticed the crack I called my preferred repair shop for a quote. I had already looked up the manifold online and knew it was around a $100 so was shocked (SHOCKED I say) when the shop quoted me $568 for the repair, parts and labor. And on top of that they said there may be additional charges for a heat shield (that I knew was included with the manifold anyway) and if they break any studs or run into other issues.

After that I let things ride (literally) for a while and then stopped in at my local auto parts store. This is a small store in a rural area a couple of miles from the house and I try and support them even though they are never the cheapest. He looks in the book and says “do you have this or that engine”? To which I reply “that”. He then says “I do not show a listing for it” and nothing more. He, my “Parts Guy” does not bother to give me any suggestions about how I am supposed to find one or anything. Hummm. So again I defer dealing with the issue.