Scamp ground clearance? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2015, 06:07 PM   #1

Name: Kerry
Trailer: Currently looking
California
Scamp ground clearance?

I am a photographer that is considering a Scamp as a good possibility for my photo trips.

I frequently venture onto unpaved or unimproved forest roads with an uneven surface. I am wondering about the ground clearance on the Scamp. I have seen the dump pipes behind the wheel and the clearance doesn't look great.

Any comments from someone with actual off-road experience?

Thanks in advance.
Kerry
MoTownDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 07:23 PM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoTownDog View Post
I am a photographer that is considering a Scamp as a good possibility for my photo trips.

I frequently venture onto unpaved or unimproved forest roads with an uneven surface. I am wondering about the ground clearance on the Scamp. I have seen the dump pipes behind the wheel and the clearance doesn't look great.

Thanks in advance.
Kerry
Which Scamp with what options?
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 07:32 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
You could look for an Escape 17B with high lift axle.
Attached Thumbnails
Rock pile.jpg  
Old 05-13-2015, 07:41 PM   #4

California
Scamp 13' with shower/toilet!
Old 05-13-2015, 07:46 PM   #5

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Darkroom?
Old 05-13-2015, 08:08 PM   #6

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington
Axle modifications and larger wheels and tires will let you increase ground clearance. I changed my axle and put larger wheels and tires on my Bigfoot and lifter it about 5 inches. If you are having a trailer built you should be able to work with the manufacturer to get more clearance.
Jack L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 09:19 PM   #7

Name: J