Scamp or Trillium - Fiberglass RV

Old 06-11-2013, 12:00 PM   #1

Name: Lisa VPC
Trailer: 1978 Trillium 1300
Michigan
Scamp or Trillium

I know this has been posted as a general discussion before...but we are looking at a 1996 13' Scamp and a 1978 Trillium 1300. PROS and CONS?? We saw the Scamp and are going to seem the Trillium tonight. Thanks in advance for any help!

Lisa VPC
SW Michigan

Old 06-11-2013, 12:36 PM   #2

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1977, 1978 (2), 1300 - 1977, 1973, and a 1972
Alberta
Registry
Lisa, I am no expert on Scamps, but I will pass on what I know of the pros and cons of a Trillium.

The Cons:
There are three big jobs to be done with Trilliums.
1) The door sags, and needs to be re-installed, but this is typical of all fibreglass eggs.
2) The plywood frame around the windows rots and needs to be replaced.
3) The belly band eventually leaks. The fix is easy, but takes some time.
My First Belly Band Thread

The Pros:
- The Trillium has large jalousie windows on all four sides. I would look for one with a kitchen window and a window in the door.
- The interior furniture is glassed in. No rivets to leak.
- The more square shape gives a larger feel to the interior.
- The cab is relatively easy to remove from the frame 6 or 8 bolts (8 on a 4500) and the gas and electrical connections are all that is required to pull off the cab.
- Available in some kwell retro colours, like green outside, orange inside.

I am the owner of four, and counting Trilliums, so you can assume what I would recommend.

Old 06-11-2013, 01:36 PM   #3

Michigan