Scan Gauge 11 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2010, 09:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Chester Taje's Avatar
 
Name: Ches
Trailer: 1992 Kustom Koach 17 FT
British Columbia
Posts: 4,897
I am just curious if anyone here is using a scan gauge to improve fuel mileage.
__________________

__________________
Retired Underground Coal Miner.
Served in Canadian Army (1PPCLI)
Chester Taje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
paulw's Avatar
 
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 361
Registry
I use one - primarily for the transmission temperature gauge.
I suppose I could watch it to try and improve mileage, but I think it would try to get me to drive like my dad did 40 years ago - easy on the gas when you start out, don't race up to a stop sign ....
I did use it to check a code and clear a CEL the other day.
I like it..
__________________

paulw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 11:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Trailer: 1990 Bigfoot 17 ft.5 ft
Posts: 55
The Scan Gauge II info states only coolant temperature not transmission temperature .
__________________
Bill A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ed Harris's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2002 Casita Freedom Deluxe,The driveway is a Dark & Lonely Place now!
Missouri
Posts: 1,776
Evidently it will display Tranny Temp for certain vehicles.
I know some other Sprinter owners have reported this function.

I use mine every time I tow to watch coolant temp,engine load,MPG amd GPM and in general just have something else to watch and be unsettled about?

I move mine from car to car too and track and reset codes as needed.
It gives a lot of info in a small package I think.
I need to look into the extended functions more and see if I can take advantage of any in my vehicles.
__________________
Ed Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:08 AM   #5
Member
 
Mark J's Avatar
 
Trailer: 13 ft Scamp 1999
Posts: 80
How do you know which vehicles it works in? I would like to moniter the transmission temp. Is must install in some simple way? (As you can see I am not familar with the scan gauge!).
__________________
Mark J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Trailer: 2009 Scamp 16 ft / 2003 Durango
Posts: 692
Here is a link to the Scan Gauge web site

http://www.scangauge.com/

Bill K

Quote:
How do you know which vehicles it works in? I would like to moniter the transmission temp. Is must install in some simple way? (As you can see I am not familar with the scan gauge!).
__________________
Bill K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:19 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Name: Kevin K
Trailer: 17' Casita
Mpls,Minnesota
Posts: 3,052
Registry
I have one. You can read 4 gauges at a time. I have mine set to read Water temp,Trans. Temp
Avg MPG and MPG as you drive. It has about 25 other gauges also. My ScanGauge II is on a 99 Silverado Pickup.
http://www.scangauge.com/

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1999_Aqua.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	29187
__________________
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 08:49 AM   #8
Member
 
Len Cater's Avatar
 
Trailer: 88 Cadet
Posts: 58
To be able to track mileage requires a lot of user inputs since the OBDII connector does not have any gas tank capacity information. So on each fill up the user needs to input the data. I don't do this as I find it a bit of a pain. What the scan guage is great is looking at fault codes (check engine lights etc) and self diagnosis before deciding to take into the shop. With all of the electronic sensors on today's vehicles is nice to know what's going on and if it is an intermittent or serious issue. Besides, if the garage charges you $75 to clear fault codes, you'll have this paid for in 3 visits.
__________________
Len Cater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:02 AM   #9
member
 
Trailer: Bigfoot Rear Queen 25 ft
Posts: 346
Don't most later model vehicles have this information available on board?
__________________
Time K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:27 AM   #10
Member
 
Len Cater's Avatar
 
Trailer: 88 Cadet
Posts: 58
To be able to track mileage requires a lot of user inputs since the OBDII connector does not have any gas tank capacity information. So on each fill up the user needs to input the data. I don't do this as I find it a bit of a pain. What the scan guage is great is looking at fault codes (check engine lights etc) and self diagnosis before deciding to take into the shop. With all of the electronic sensors on today's vehicles is nice to know what's going on and if it is an intermittent or serious issue. Besides, if the garage charges you $75 to clear fault codes, you'll have this paid for in 3 visits.
__________________
Len Cater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:30 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ed Harris's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2002 Casita Freedom Deluxe,The driveway is a Dark & Lonely Place now!
Missouri
Posts: 1,776
Quote:
To be able to track mileage requires a lot of user inputs since the OBDII connector does not have any gas tank capacity information. So on each fill up the user needs to input the data. I don't do this as I find it a bit of a pain. What the scan guage is great is looking at fault codes (check engine lights etc) and self diagnosis before deciding to take into the shop. With all of the electronic sensors on today's vehicles is nice to know what's going on and if it is an intermittent or serious issue. Besides, if the garage charges you $75 to clear fault codes, you'll have this paid for in 3 visits.
I think it takes less than 10 seconds at each fill-up to enter the data?
I consider this extremely quick to do.







__________________
Ed Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 09:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
paulw's Avatar
 
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 361
Registry
Quote:
Don't most later model vehicles have this information available on board?
Ya - The ScanGauge just plugs in to your car's OBDII connector and lets you display whatever data's available that you want to see. Higher end versions of my truck have a display built in to the dash.

I had to set some codes to display the transmission temperature (The instructions are on their web site). Evidently its not available from from vehicles.

Gas consumption features:
When you first set it up you enter your vehicles gas tank capacity and when you do the next few fill ups, you correct the quantity of gas your car thinks you pumped in to calibrate the unit. I think its as accurate as I usually am doing division on the back of a gas reciept.

I like it for the four extra gauges I keep displayed - intake air, transmission & water temps and miles per gallon - but there's a lot more available if you want to play with it.
paulw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:16 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Jon Vermilye's Avatar
 
Name: Jon
Trailer: 2017 Escape 21
Oswego, NY
Posts: 1,406
Registry
I have mine set for current MPG, Miles Until Empty, Water Temp & Battery Voltage. As long as you enter the # of gallons at each fillup & the tank size, the Miles Until Empty works pretty good. I Do wish transmission temperature was available for the RAV4, but I have not been able to find codes for it. Not sure why since there is an transmission overtemp indicator lamp.
Jon Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 11:46 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Name: Kevin K
Trailer: 17' Casita
Mpls,Minnesota
Posts: 3,052
Registry
NO sensor for a RAV4.
__________________

__________________
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scan gauge 2 ebay daily deal steve w General Chat 1 03-27-2010 08:03 PM
What gauge wire should I use? Kevin K Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 14 10-15-2007 02:13 PM
Wiring Gauge D Shubel Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 9 05-09-2006 06:44 PM
What gauge wire should I use? Kevin K General Chat 0 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.