Side mirrors? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-21-2013, 10:43 AM   #1

Name: McKenna Lynn
Trailer: Considering Scamp 13
Colorado
Side mirrors?

Recommend adding side mirrors for Subaru Outback and a Scamp 13 ?? I am a newbie, never towed.
McKenna Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 10:51 AM   #2

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Lynn when I first started towing my 16' with my Outback I used strap on extended mirrors. With time I realized not really necessary if I adjust the cars mirrors correctly as the ones on the car do sit out a fair distance from the car to start with. Would think with a 13' you will probable be fine without them as well.
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 10:54 AM   #3

Colorado
Carol,

Thanks for your insight. I have never towed anything before. Any tips on what to expect, and how to start out when I pick up my trailer. Haven't ordered yet, but getting closer with all this good input.
Old 09-21-2013, 11:15 AM   #4

Trailer: 1996 Casita Freedom Deluxe 17 ft
I agree with Carol. When I first towed my Casita I got a set of strap-on mirrors. First, they bounced around so much that they gave me a headache. Then I found out that big trucks passing at high speed on a two-lane road would fold back the one on the driver's side. The one thing they are good for is backing up by yourself since it's sometimes hard to see the rear end of your trailer with normal mirrors. If you have a friend to guide you, this shouldn't be a problem.
Terry G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 11:28 AM   #5

Colorado
I am going solo, so maybe I will need them for backing up. Since I've never towed, I'm sure that will be a little nerve wracking for me.
Old 09-21-2013, 11:33 AM   #6

Trailer: No Trailer Yet