Software for RVers - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2019, 05:19 PM   #1

Name: Biker
Trailer: 2018 Bigfoot 21' 25B21FB (PREV: Casita 17' Spirit Deluxe)
North Carolina
Software for RVers

Hi,

In addition to being a fiberglass RV enthusiast, I dabble in technology.

I am currently studying new programming skills and was wondering if there is an application of some sort that would be extremely useful to RVers?

I imagine there are already a bunch of "campground finder" type sites/apps but wondering what else may be useful.

As part of my learning I would like to build something beneficial to others.

Kindly let me know if you have any ideas & if it would be more useful as a website or smart phone app.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 04:13 PM   #2

Name: Bat Dude
Trailer: Escape
Michigan
software

Hi,

While RVPARKY and AllStays have "where to park/camp" for the night etc. it seems none include "Rest Stops" along a chosen route from point A to Point B. Copilots and dogs may need more "rest stops" that a suborn TV driver who just wants to "GET THERE" full stop as the Brits say.

AAA after many many years provides of trip planning now includes a "Bubble/circle polygon" on their maps for every X-hours of travel to plan driving distances and allows one to plan where to camp/stop for the night. This does not include rest stop on the Interstate system. DW/copilot has just found an app that provides rest stop info based on ones current location.

Might be nice to have this with an RV travel app for routing that is interactive and actively tracks ones progress from RV stop 1 to RV stop 2 once a route is selected. In some states rest stops also have dump stations and that would be great to have integrated.

May take quite a bit of flow charting to define the process before coding.