Total RV Newbie Looking for Tips and Question on Deposit on Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-02-2017, 05:07 PM   #1

Name: Tommy
Trailer: In the Market
Kentucky
Total RV Newbie Looking for Tips and Question on Deposit on Scamp

Hello everyone...first post here. I'm a total newbie to the RV world but looking to get a rig and get on with exploring the country. You could say I'm having kind of any early life crisis having turned 30 and slowly balding (yikes!). I have this extreme desire to travel and make memories as it feels like time is rolling quicker than I'd like.

Anyways, I am interested in a 13ft Scamp to pull with my 2005 Ford Escape. I contacted Jim at Scamp asking about current pricing and deposit information. Wow these things really hold their value! Normally I buy used whenever possible, but it seems like the comparable used units are selling for just a few thousand less than a new one. Jim told me that they require a $500 deposit but that it is refundable should I decide to cancel the order. Build completion date as of today - February 2018.

I have 2 questions:

1) Can anyone confirm that the deposit is truely no risk and totally refundable should I decide to cancel the order. My plan is to put in an order and continue to monitor the used market. Should I find a suitable used unit used, I could cancel the order and if I don't find a unit by February than I'll have one ready to purchase new.

2) I know this is broad question but if anyone has any tips/suggestions just in general, let 'em fly. As I said, I am a total newbie in this department, but I am reading up on the subject online.
liftinggeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 05:19 PM   #2

Name: Sergey