Towing vehicle - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2007, 08:55 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
HI,

MY first post. (I'm really a newbie!)

I saw a scamp while on vacation and fell in love, so I'm now looking for a fiberglass egg trailer.

I had several questions:

1) Can a Nissan Altima tow one of these trailers?
2) Do they have electric brakes?, Do you need them?
3) How about a swerve preventer?
4) Is it difficult to wire up the car connection to the trailer?
5) Wher do you get trailer hitches installed? Is there anything I should know about trailer hitches when I get one installed?

Tnx for any assistance.

PS. I live in Long Island , NY Let me know if anyone out there has any leads for a unit.

Marty pohrille
Martin Pohrille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 09:40 AM   #2
Administrator

Trailer: Casita 1999 17 ft Liberty Deluxe
Registry
QUOTE: With proper equipment, both the four-cylinder and V-6 Altima can tow up to 1,000 pounds. Cf. researchcars.com

Hi, Martin. Welcome to FiberglassRV.com. We're glad you found us!

Have a look around some of our former discussions (use our Search feature, above); you will find that most people think even a Scamp 13' is going to top 1000 lbs when loaded for camping... There are a few other trailers that are lighter (Lite House, which is no longer in production, being one)

Good luck!!

(note: instead of searching for "swerve" try "sway")
Info on Adding Photos to a Post
RV Life Network FAQ
Mary F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2007, 01:11 PM   #3

Trailer: Boler (B1700RGH) 1979