Up sizing or downsizing? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-10-2018, 05:34 PM   #1

Name: Bat Dude
Trailer: Escape
Michigan
Up sizing or downsizing?

Hi all,

We had a wonderful 10 days at Payne's Prairie Preserve State Park in Florida, just south of Gainesville. Great response to the bat acoustic mini-course and the following week graduate seminar.

Eeee now an additional Bolivian Ph.D. student working on bats added to the new Costa Rican Ph.D. and the Peruvian I have been working with for a few years. Time to retire? Gotta keep the mind functioning.

Wow at one point at Payne's Prarie there were 4 yes F O U R! Scamps in the campground and an Oliver Elite II!

Ok, the Oliver is WAY to heavy to tow with our Ford Flex. All the other Scampers with 13s were happy as clams.

So we are still in the mode (at least I am) of upsizing to a 19' Escape. Scamp's 19 is a 5th wheel and I do not want to buy a new pick-em-up truck. Besides our Flexy is just over a year old, OK with 23K miles on her, most pulling the Scamp she is reliable... almost.

Some aspects of Ford's proprietary navigation system leave a lot to be desired as it rarely finds state camp grounds. Well as wi say in Belize "Dot be "El Torro poopoo" Fo tru Mon.

Downsizing seems out of the question for 4-4.5 months of "part-time" Full-Timing.

I just saw this:

Ok, Not an option!

Hoping that Scamp Camp at Sebring will have a 19 Escape that Carolyn can look at. There is a new 2017 Escape owner in Venice Florida where we will be in a few weeks that also may be an option for her to see one up close and personal.