Using your REAL name online? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-16-2011, 09:32 AM   #1

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Question Using your REAL name online?

Anonymous comments end at U-T, SignOn | SignOnSanDiego.com

(Moderator's note: I am also an Administrator for FiberglassRV's Facebook Page.)

I posted this on Facebook.
I find it curious that after 8 years with a real name policy we have relaxed ours, while several of the websites of major newspapers are just now adopting it.

Old 09-16-2011, 10:16 AM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Frederick, Donna here! . I prefer to call people by their name... not some alias or screen name. No one says it has to be a full name or even a first name. But, I just simply can't call a human adult by some of the names I'm seeing pop up on the forums. Really de-personalizes the interactions. YMMV
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 11:23 AM   #3

Trailer: Toyota Sunrader and 16 ft Scamp
Send a message via AIM to Perry J Send a message via Yahoo to Perry J
Frederick, I agree with you.
I would also like to know where a person live, not just the Country or state.
John Perry
Lake Isabella, Ca.
Perry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 11:49 AM   #4

Trailer: 13 ft Trillium
I don't have a problem if you change the policy here too. If that happens, we should include both the real name and the current screen name so we can maintain continuity.
Barrie
HikeSticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:00 PM   #5

Name: Tim
Trailer: 2006 Casita
New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrie Bochoff View Post
I don't have a problem if you change the policy here too. If that happens, we should include both the real name and the current screen name so we can maintain continuity.
Barrie