Vented cat heater - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2008, 12:16 AM   #1

Trailer: 1971 Astro (ie. Campster/Hunter I)
Send a message via MSN to Harry Young Send a message via Yahoo to Harry Young
I have followed discussons on cat heaters biting my lip after having had a few thoughts on safety in the back of my mind. While surfing the web and finding this brand I wanted to bring it into the forum and see if anyone has one of these. I like the thermostat control, 12v ignition and the venting system which requires no open windows combined with a saftey shut off system. I think I could get behind this if it does what it says.

http://www.ventedcatheater.com/2.html

Harry
Harry Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:55 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Reminds me of the Wave 3 and Wave 6 cat heaters....

I have no experience w/ either, but I've been considering a Wave 3 for my future RV. The ones you're looking at seem to be very similar.
David Mooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 11:43 AM   #3

Name: Parker
Trailer: Escape 19
Ohio
Looks like a nice product. I just installed a Wave 3, which requires opening the roof vent a little and a window down lower for a fresh air source. One thing I don't undertand about this vented one is where the air comes from that replaces what's being pumped out through the power vent. It has to come in from somewhere (didn't see anything about a fresh air connection, so it must get air through window leaks, the occaional door opening, or somewhere) so I wonder how more efficient it really is in heating the RV.

Parker
Parker Buckley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:14 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
I was just reading between the lines on this one, but it looks like it NEEDS power to start, so it won't be working if your battery is low...