We're the new proud owners of this 17' Burro - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-27-2009, 10:26 AM   #1

Trailer: 1991 Burro 17 ft
First off thanks to all of you that responded to my post titled "Are there any drawbacks to owning a fiberglass trailer". With the overwhelming response we received we started our search and after several near misses we finally bought a 17' Burro this weekend which we drove 430miles home yesterday.

Overall the shell and the interior are in good shape but here's what we think it needs:

1. The frame has a lot rust, most of it seems surface rust but being in SoCal I'm not an expert in rust. My plan is to wire-wheel it as much as I can and then POR-15 it. I'm thinking replacing the frame would be cost prohibitive and not a DIY job? One side of the propane platform is borken so I'll have to weld that - I have a small mig-welder at home I can use for that.

2. The interior needs some updating, it's "totally 80s" inside. We'd like to re-cover all the interior foam with some shade of red that'll look nice against the white interior. Can anyone point us to some modern looking interior for some ideas?

3. We'd like to replace and reface the 1.5" thick doors and cabinets with some lightweight material that reflects light and makes the inside look more modern.

4. The main door doesn't seal very well at the top and leaks water when it rains according to the previous owner.

5. The shower has a seam that's missing caulk and the water goes right through it and apparently drains to the lower part of the shell - according to the previous owner. Not sure where it ends up but I'm assuming it drains through to the ground.