what to buy - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2009, 11:08 PM   #1

Trailer: Viking
I have been looking at eggs for a couple of mounths now. Thought I had it narrowed down to what I wanted. We have two children who like to go camping with us. I talked to scamp the other day I like the bunk beds in the front but the bed for my wife and me is only 44in to get the 54in bed it would be another 2,000 dollars for the delux. I also like the 17 foot sd by Casita but I think that will be to much hitch weight for my van to pull. I have a Pontiac Montana. Than I came across the 17 Foot Burro from what I see you can get the bigger bed in the back and the bunks up front. Does anyone have a Burro and what is the quality like. From the specs it lighter than the Casita and would be easer for me to pull. I am still new to the fiberglass trailers and I want a quality trailer that I can keep for a long time. The bath and shower is also important to us with the children.
mark Gustof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 11:30 PM   #2

Trailer: Former Burro owner and fan!
Registry
Hi Mark, and welcome.

I have a Burro 17. First, let me ask.. did you actually find one or are you thinking of new? Burro has been out of business for almost a decade, but the website lives on... new is not an option.

Now, that said, It would be great for a family. I have had a few kids in the back of mine, which is set up without the table as a "living" room and they were playing with my cat quite comfortably.. so daytime "squeezies" during rain is bearable and doable. Lots of room for games and tv watching etc.

If you get one with a side bath, the "hallway" to the back is also reasonable for people to pass next to each other. The bed up front is just barely shy of a twin wide, and I actually sleep on it instead of the football field in the back. I do not have bunks.