What would you do differently? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2019, 10:33 AM   #1

Name: Laura
Trailer: Learning about trailers
Oregon
What would you do differently?

I’m new to having a travel trailer. The dream goes back many years! Lol I had a photo of a Scamp stuck to the wall of my cubicle in 2004. But, the reality of owning one is only a real option recently. So, jumping in fresh, I’d love to know what you wish you’d known before you bought your first fiberglass trailer.

A little about us... I’m a small gal in my early fifties. My sweetie is a big guy in his yearly 60’s. He’s thinking he wants to hold out for the king sized bed. I don’t think it’ll matter that much to me. We have two little dogs and no kids at home, anymore. And, we’ll tow with a 2002 Chevy Silverado. We’d like to keep to 16 -17 foot trailer.

Thank you in advance for your input. Random thoughts welcome!
LauraP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 10:49 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
How to ask this delicately... "big" as in tall, broad, both? If tall, how tall, because many molded trailers have limited headroom and short beds. Bed size is more important, as you've already identified.

On first impulse you seem like good candidates for one of the Hymer GT trailers that are being sold for a pretty good price due to the bankruptcy of the manufacturer. You can find more information on a couple of other recent threads. King-sized bed and a pop-up roof extension should make them very roomy, but not too large or heavy. Being a handy is a plus, since you'll have no manufacturer support, but even if not, most things on any trailer are pretty standard stuff.