13' Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2014, 08:52 PM   #1

Name: Anthony
Trailer: In the market
Texas
13' Scamp

I have been searching all over Texas and half of Georgia for a scamp or Casita for my budget of 5k. It appears that I'm not going to find one with that budget. At least not one in good enough shape that I'm gonna part with 5k. The ones I looked at, I wouldn't give 3k for and the sellers wouldn't budge on price. However, I found one in horrible shape. It has nothing left inside and the floor is rotten. It is nothing more than a shell. I don't know what year it is, but I assume it's from the 70's. I can get it super cheap or I wouldn't even consider it. I would like to drag it home and work on it on my days off. Part of my brain says it's not worth the trouble, but part of me would like to give it a shot. I have zero experience in doing this sort of repair, so I guess that's what drawing me to it. I have many hobbies from woodwork to painting, so I'm always looking for something different to try.

The rivets are going to need replacing. Problem is, how's a fellow to know what they went to? I would like to do my own thing as far as cabinets, bed, seats and table go. I guess I could always repair what holes I don't need and put new holes where I want, but I don't know if that is a smart move.

Has anyone here attempted anything like this?
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:16 PM   #2

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
What you are proposing will be a challenge without some past experience with FGRV's, but may be just what you want to attempt.

Usually rivets are missing when cabinets have been removed. If they are also missing, while they are available from Scamp, (if it's a Scamp that is) that's a major loss.