A Better DIY Adapter to Blow-out Water Lines - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-01-2014, 05:55 PM   #1
Commercial Member

Name: Ian
Trailer: 1974 Boler 1300 - 2014 Escape 19'
Alberta
Registry
A Better DIY Adapter to Blow-out Water Lines

The trick to successfully blowing our water line to winterize your trailer is low air pressure but lots of volume. The tire chuck adapters are not only a PITA to use but they are very restrictive, often not providing the air volume required to properly blow the water from the lines.
I have documented my solution pictured below which is both convenient to use, not restrictive and easy to build. I have been using this adapter on 3 trailer for the past 2 years and it works great.

Details of building it are on my blog.
Click Here For the Blog

Ian G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 06:38 PM   #2

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Escape 19 and Escape 15B
Alberta
Looks really good Ian. Mine was homemade also, but just a little simpler. I have to disconnect the air rather than turn a valve.

"You've got to be very careful if you don't know where you are going, because you might not get there." - Yogi Berra
Ice-breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 03:16 PM   #3

Name: Jack
Trailer: '98 BURRO 17WB
Delaware
The quick disconnect air line fitting is definitely the way to go but why the shutoff valve?

Jack
Old 11-02-2014, 07:37 PM   #4

Name: Drew
Trailer: 1987 Scamp 16ft, Layout 4
Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit View Post
The quick disconnect air line fitting is definitely the way to go but why the shutoff valve?

Jack
From the link:
"The ball valve allows you to turn the pressure on and off as required without the need to disconnect the air line."
DrewSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 12:21 PM   #5

Name: Jeff
Trailer: 17' Big Foot
British Columbia
air line