Old 06-01-2011, 09:57 AM   #1

Name: Loulou
Trailer: 1973 13' boler
British Columbia
Registry
Cleaning the exterior

Hi there:

I'm new to Fiberglass RV...just joined yesterday. What a great site!

We have a '73 Boler, it's never been painted. The exterior is looking rather rough. I'd love to get some suggestions on how to clean/restore the gel coat.

Thanks. Will post pictures soon.

Old 06-01-2011, 10:21 AM   #2

Name: Carol
Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
British Columbia
Registry
You will get lots of responses to your question.

I have had great results using 3M Fiberglass Restore and Wax if heavy oxidation on the trailer (they have another product if lightly oxidized call 3M Fiberglass Clean and Wax). The first time I did my trailer I cleaned it well using a micro pad and then I used the stuff for 3M Restore and Wax for heavy oxidation but after that I have only had to use the Clean and Wax one. You will find it in the boat cleaning section of a lot of stores. Have put it on by hand using a micro cloth (works well) as well as having used a power buffer with a wool buffer pad (worked even better). After using it, you then need to add a coat of paste wax. 3M recommends that after waxing you also use a product called Clean and Shine but so far I have not tried that one.

Actually just spent Sunday doing my yearly clean and wax and I need sunglasses for the glare. :-)

Old 06-01-2011, 11:32 AM   #3

Name: D_____ N____
Trailer: 17' Casita
Mpls,Minnesota
Registry
I use PoliGlow
But read here http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...ell-43004.html
Old 06-03-2011, 05:59 PM   #4

British Columbia
Registry
thanks

Thanks for the suggestion Carol. Went out and bought the 3M restore and wax this afternoon...this will be tomorrow's project. Wish me luck!
I'm glad I didn't receive lots of replies with conflicting information. This makes it easier!
Loulou
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carol H View Post
You will get lots of responses to your question.