"De"- winterizing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2003, 10:32 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
"De"- winterizing

I bought my 1996 16' scamp deluxe, with front bathroom, this spring. It still has the antifreeze in it. It didn't come with much of a manual (actually, none....), and I have since found one on-line. I've also read the tutorial on "winterizing." Being a total novice, however, I'm not sure what I need to do to reverse the process--i.e., flush the antifreeze out of the system. I sort of need a step-by-step tutorial like the one for winterizing. So far I have found the gray and black water outlets, the city water and fresh water tank inputs, but I'm not sure what needs to be filled and what needs to be opened. Do I just hook up the hose to the city water input, open all the faucets, sink and shower drains, and both tank outlets? What about the water heater? I want to do it right and not screw anything up... if some nice person out there with a high tolerance for dumb questions could help out I'd be soooo greatful! and thanks in advance..... I'm feeling a little boggled right now...:wak Michele

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2003, 06:50 AM   #2

Michele- Greetings from another newbie......no such thing as dumb questions here!!! Since I am giving a seminar at the Rally on this subject (!!) I will chime in on what I have gleaned from my short experience and a bit of winter camping as well. I am hoping that more seasoned RVers will add to this.