Furnace procedure - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2011, 07:41 PM   #1

Name: Shaidah
Trailer: 81 Bigfoot, 17'
British Columbia
Furnace procedure

I'm completely new to RVs and as we are approaching our first fall/winter with our 1981 Bigfoot I'm thinking I should learn how to use the furnace. I have never attempted to use the furnace or the hot water heater.

As far as I can tell, the large access panel outside the trailer is used to light the pilot for the hot water heater, but I can't find anything for the furnace.

Is there a single pilot for the two systems? If so, do I have to make sure the hot water tank is full before using the furnace?

Any help would be greatly appreciated before I start fiddling with it - I don't want to blow up my Bigfoot!

Thanks!
Shaidah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:27 PM   #2

Name: Sean
Trailer: Bigfoot
Saskatchewan
First, the hot water heater and furnace are two separate systems. When you fire up the water heater, make sure the water system is full including the water heater and the temperature setting is at it's lowest setting.

As for the furnace, you may (should) have access to the front of it, there should be an access door near the bottom, now, something to note, it may not have a pilot light but use electronic ignition, wouldn't hurt to have peel either way to be sure and to make sure everything is all nice and clean before you fire it up.
Orcus79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 08:33 PM   #3

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaidah View Post
I'm completely new to RVs and as we are approaching our first fall/winter with our 1981 Bigfoot I'm thinking I should learn how to use the furnace. I have never attempted to use the furnace or the hot water heater.