Marine-Tex? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2016, 08:56 PM   #1

Name: Melody
Trailer: Beachcomber
Alberta
Registry
Marine-Tex?

Hi all,

My apologies if this has been talked about, I've spent a lot of time searching and couldn't find it.

I'm a complete newbie and concerned about a top corner of my beachcomber that the PO used lots of silicone to "repair". As the trailer will be stored outside all winter, harsh in Saskatchewan, I'd like to do a better repair this fall (and its cooling off fast).

I've found Marine-Tex repair putty and thought I could remove the silicone, sand, and put that on. Is that a complete no no or would it work!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	140.8 KB
ID:	99780
Thanks!
Melody beachcomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 09:17 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: Roamer 1
Smith Valley, Nevada
A broken corner from an impact will probably require glass and polyester resin. Marine-Tex is excellent epoxy, and sticks to fiberglas well, but does not soak into cracks. Later, fiberglass resin won't stick to marine tex if you wanted to repair some fiber damage.

Can't really tell what happened there, but it looks like it needs some glass work and polyester resin for the best repair.
Old 09-14-2016, 09:25 PM   #3

Name: Kelly
Trailer: Trails West
Oregon
The first step you need to do is take off all that caulking so you can see exactly how extensive the damage is. Then post a photo of that area once it is cleaned up.

Such repairs are specific to the extent of the damage so the damage does need to be clearly seen first before a repair plan can be established. But not too worry, help is on hand and replies will come in almost as soon as you get the new photos posted.