Need new battery - currently inside - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-03-2016, 08:17 PM   #1

Name: J
Trailer: Scamp
North Carolina
Need new battery - currently inside

1978 Trillium 1300, previous owner moved the battery inside under the front bunk. I think it was moved inside because a second propane tank was added on the tongue. It is an Interstate SRM-24. Because of my current location and schedule, I haven't utilized it in 2 years and wasn't smart enough to put a maintainer on it (even though I own one) and it is deeply sulfated.

If I am going to purchase a new battery, and intend to keep it inside, what are my options?
JBjunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 08:34 PM   #2

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
If you want to keep it inside, I believe your best to go with an AGM battery, but I'm not an expert.
LyleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 09:04 PM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet (want 13 ft fiber glass
Registry
Either go with the AGM battery or make sure that your new acid bath battery is placed in a sealed battery box that is then vented to the outdoors.
Dave & Paula
David B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 12:53 AM   #4

North Carolina
Is there a particular AGM battery that anyone has had luck with?
Old 03-04-2016, 04:37 AM   #5
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010
An AGM is the only lead acid battery that UPS will deliver so you can buy on line. They aren't cheap. My group 24 Lifeline was about $250. Napa and Sears used to carry Optima but I'm not sure they carry the blue one which is the Marine battery. Unless you plan on keeping the trailer for a very long time a Walmart $80 special is a less expensive option. In either case I'd move the battery to the tongue. It's a safer location in my opinion. Raz
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 06:49 AM   #6

Name: Jon