perplexed newbie here - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2003, 10:50 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
perplexed newbie here

I just picked up a Perris Pacer last week and I'm trying to give it a thorough cleaning including flushing out the fresh and gray water tanks. I had a great working pump style faucet until I drained and flushed the reservoir, now i can't get water to my sink again. Is there a priming procedure or just a whole lotta pumping? I've already pumped it 30-50 times and all I get is little sprays of water.

Legacy Posts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 03:58 AM   #2

I usually hold my thumb over the spout so that between pumps the water can't fall back to the tank. It's usually about 5 or 6 pumps then.

Old 07-03-2003, 07:25 AM   #3

Good information to know. I plan on using a hand pump.

You have any picturesof it, Stephen? especially camping when you have the Perris with you? :)

Old 07-04-2003, 12:40 AM   #4

yup...sounds like an air leak to me....

like pjantis says...hold that thumb over the spout to build up pressure..

(it's worth a shot...!)

Old 07-04-2003, 02:33 AM   #5

And if that doesn't work, and the hose connections are tight, and the hose itself is OK, then the rubber diaphram inside the pump is split, either from age or water froze inside of it.
Then the pump needs to be rebuilt or replaced.

Old 07-04-2003, 05:47 AM   #6

Hi!

My pump is self priming in 5 or 6 strokes.

If your pump was working fine before the cleaning I would suspect that something is blocking the waterline or the checkvalve. Or maybe there is a bad bend on the line.:shg

If there is no blocking, then the check valve (a ball) is good and the rubber ring that produce the vaccum inside the pump need to be changed, if you can find it.

I don't know how many hours I spend trying to fix my old pump witch had the same symptoms as yours.