Polishes & Storage Cabinet - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2009, 08:47 AM   #1

Trailer: Trillium 1971 13 ft
Registry
Thumbs up

Hi there, I'm new to the trillium family, I have a 1971 Trillium & want to make the exterior & interior look a lot better. What polishes/cleaners would be the best?? Would it be best to go & talk to a boat repair place to see what products they have & suggest. I don't have any experience working with fiberglass so I have NO idea where to start . The interior looks alright, but the exterior looks neglected by the previous owners.

Also what has various people done with the storage cabinet beside the door. I want to add more shelves & was wanting to get additional ideas. So any ideas about both topics would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Paul
Attached Thumbnails
DSC01732_Tillium_1971.jpg  

https://community.webshots.com/user/p...host=community
Paul Richter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:59 AM   #2

Trailer: 1983 13 ft Scamp
Registry
Try this http://www.fiberglassrv.com/board/index.ph...amp;hl=poliglow
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:26 PM   #3

Trailer: 1978 Trillium 4500
Registry
To add to the list of ways to restore a faded fiberglass exterior this is what I tried

First a good cleaning with soap and water using a soft scrub brush then lightly wetsand with 1000 grit sand paper using lots of water.
When clean and dry I polished back the shine with Novus 2 Plastic Polish.
I started with a small section to not get overwhelmed and before long I was hooked.
I found out it was going to take three applications by hand to get the shine I wanted so I went out and bought a cheap electric car polisher - much easier.

I used Novus 2 fine scratch polish because I had a small bottle on hand.