power wash?? Help! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2013, 06:57 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
power wash?? Help!

I have a Scamp 13' trailer that has been at my x-mother in laws for 2 summers. She has used a sprinkler on the yard, and it has been running on one side of the Scamp and left rust stains from the well water. About 4 years ago we used poly glow on it. My boyfriend wants to power wash the rust off it. Will this damage the Scamp? Or tear off the decals? I have no knowledge of a power washer as I have never used one and I dont trust that he wont blow a hole right through the side of it if I am not there to supervise! Please help! Thanks!
Kara P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:10 PM   #2

Name: Francesca Knowles
Trailer: '78 Trillium 4500
Jefferson County, Washington State, U.S.A.
Registry
A power washer will do nothing but blow water past every seal in the trailer. Rust must be removed chemically. Barkeeper's friend has oxalic acid in it which is commonly used to dissolve rust stains on all kinds of surfaces.

Wash the trailer as usual and apply a paste of Barkeeper's friend to the residual rust stains...let it stand for awhile, then gently polish. The rust should come off.

But be warned- the place you've "buffed" will likely be shinier than the rest of the trailer, so you might have to polish the whole thing.

Francesca

P.S.

Since you mention that you used Poliglow on it some time back, it occurs to me that the rust might be adhered only to that film and not penetrated to the gelcoat. After washing but before Barkeeper's, you might try whatever solvent is recommended for Poliglow removal and see if the rust doesn't come away with the polish.

F.
Francesca Knowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:20 PM   #3

Name: Brian
Trailer: 2013 ParkLiner
Upstate New York