Protection from the elements - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2012, 12:40 PM   #1

Name: jeff
Trailer: 25b25fb
Washington
Protection from the elements

Hi Everyone! I am new to trailer life and this forum. I have a 09 Bigfoot 25 FB and plan on keeping her out in the yard while she is not on the road. My question is what is the next best thing besides storing her inside...should I
A. Build a carport.
B. Put a travel trailer cover on her
C. Use Vivilon clear coat and call it good. (high UV inhibitors, looks like good stuff)

Also, since I plan on leaving her plugged in, (for batteries) shall I always keep a fan blowing and or a ceramic space heater going in the winter or just after use?
She will be winterized when not in use but I plan on skiing a ton this winter. She will be parked on gravel with the tires covered when at home.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Jeff
stephonze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 12:58 PM   #2

Trailer: 2007 Casita
First and foremost I will get the formal stuff out of the way! Welcome , glad you joined us on the glass forum.................

Well, I would say all of the above, carport, cover and uv protection!

Personally I don't think a heater is needed if she is winterized, but I am sure some may just in case. Personally I don't keep mine plugged in, and she's in a barn right next to a plug in. But only go out the day before a trip and plug her in to get the fridge cooling. You might have to experiment with what works for you. But I haven't found a need to keep it plugged in all the time. Again, Welcome....... Enjoy your camping this summer!
Robin G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:51 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Jeff, welcome to FiberglassRV