RV Driving School? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2014, 12:10 AM   #1

Name: Lise
Trailer: Boler
Washington
Registry
RV Driving School?

Was talking to a friend the other day about my trailer dream, turns out she used to have a Casita years ago. She suggested going to RV driving school (like truck driving school) since I have no experience pulling a trailer.

What do you all think about this idea? Anyone ever done it? Pros? Cons?

From a quick google search, it looks like there are two places in my area (Seattle) I found Shield Driving School, RV Driving School (national company with a Bremerton office).
Old 06-06-2014, 04:57 AM   #2

Name: James
Trailer: Trillium 4500
New Jersey
I pulled my my 15 foot egg for the first time last week and it was fine I kept my speed around 48-55 mph and the trip short 150 miles round trip and did just fine on the ride by the ride home I forgot I even was towing. School is always good but I would say its overkill just go get your feet wet and take it slow.
cheenyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 07:38 AM   #3

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
Hopefully a driving school would help you be prepared for what to do if things go bad, not just about summer sailing. When things go well you don't learn much about what to do in the bad times..... in fact it can make you somewhat complacent.

And NEVER let yourself forget that your trailer is back there, that's a leading cause of RV'ing accidents

Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 07:45 AM   #4

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Some questions

It couldn't hurt, except maybe your pocketbook…