Sheesh! roof vents... - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-12-2008, 04:11 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp
I am looking to replace my roof vent (possibly wanting to install a Maxx or Fantastic fan) but all of the vent/fans I see out there are 14"x14". I loosely measured my current vent on my un-updated 1982 13' Scamp and it is 14"x21". I suppose I could make the opening smaller by doing some fiberglass work, but I have never worked with fiberglass before. I would feel comfortable patching a hole but... a roof vent??? Has anyone seen any fans or vents that would fit my opening? Has anyone else installed a 14x14 into a 14x21 space? How did you do it??

Thanks so much!

Old 07-12-2008, 09:09 PM   #2

Trailer: 88 Scamp 16 ft
Registry
Quote:
I am looking to replace my roof vent (possibly wanting to install a Maxx or Fantastic fan) but all of the vent/fans I see out there are 14"x14". I loosely measured my current vent on my un-updated 1982 13' Scamp and it is 14"x21". I suppose I could make the opening smaller by doing some fiberglass work, but I have never worked with fiberglass before. I would feel comfortable patching a hole but... a roof vent??? Has anyone seen any fans or vents that would fit my opening? Has anyone else installed a 14x14 into a 14x21 space? How did you do it??

Thanks so much!

Instead of trying to fill the larger hole, why not put the vent fan of your choice in a new hole you would make towards the front of the camper?

Old 07-12-2008, 10:19 PM   #3

Quote:
Instead of trying to fill the larger hole, why not put the vent fan of your choice in a new hole you would make towards the front of the camper?

That's a great idea Dan- I can't believe that I never thought of that! I still need to replace the vent and vent cover though they are both in bad shape... any tips on where to find one that is 14x21 inches??
Old 07-12-2008, 10:48 PM   #4

Name: Weldon
Trailer: Eggcamper 2007
Texas
Quote:

Thanks so much!