shelter - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2012, 01:28 PM   #1

Name: john
Trailer: scamp 13
Michigan
shelter

while i will not be putting the scamp to bed for the winter, as i intend to use it, i do want to protect her from the snow and ice.

i was thinking of getting one of those temporary carports, but th reports i get are they don't last and should not be used in snow.

that being the case,,,,and as i am a welder, i am thinking i will build one that is stronger, and use a good heavy tarp. i imagine i can build one better and cheaper then i can buy one, but figure i should ask the experts first. is there a better option?

P.S. an expert is ex= has been
xpert= drip under preasure
Old 10-26-2012, 01:52 PM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I was looking at them and the reviews indicate that with enough wind, they self destruct. Maybe you could buy one and reinforce it.

I'm a welder (sort of), too, and have found that you can buy steel pretty cheap at the metal recyclers.
Old 10-26-2012, 02:04 PM   #3

Name: john
Trailer: scamp 13
Michigan
i think 1 inch conduit would be good and strong and real inexpensive to buy. can weld up couplers so they can be taken down, then use a heavy silver vinyl tarp and bungies. and i can anchor the whole thing down good with rebar tent pegs.
the plus side is would have one heck of a shelter for summer picnics too
Old 10-26-2012, 02:41 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
I bought something like this. (Carports.com)
Some of them are bit spendy, but the warranty and the method of anchoring is good. The "carport" is anchored with 8 3' long spikes and 4' duckbill anchors. It's not going anyplace.