View Poll Results: What traction do you prefer?
Wouldn't be caught in the snow without 4wd. 7 23.33%
Chains don't bother me, I have 2wd and chains 7 23.33%
I have never used chains on any car in the snow. 12 40.00%
I have 4wd, but put chains on all wheels and all the way around the body of the car. 1 3.33%
4wd drive means I can do 70 in the snow without crashing. 1 3.33%
I have studded tires, yer all insane! 2 6.67%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-25-2005, 12:53 PM   #1

Name: Gina D.
Trailer: '77 Leocraft 17 & Former Burro owner and fan!
West Coast USA
Registry
Renees post about snow chains in another thread prompted me to post this..

(And Renee, I am an old pro at snow chains.. I actually use them HERE more than I did in Oregon!)

Anyway, I personally won't tow in anything more than a laughable dusting of strickly powder, (I had to my FIRST outing, talk about trial by fire!) Anything more, I pull over and turn the heater on in the trailer. I will always check normal "snow" areas before I even turn the key, so hopefully, with a little preplanning and good luck, I will not find myself in a blizzard while running.

Why do I carry chains when I live in an area where most folks chose 4wd? Well, there are lots of reasons from justifying the added costs of a 4wd vehicle (Buy cost, insurance, maintenance, gas) I figered out the cost of all of this on a awd Element vs. the time it took to put on my chains 4 or 5 times a year, and I figured I was throwing about 300 bucks an hour out the window for the luxury of NOT chaining up.