Time to Wax our Scamp...whats the best? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2012, 01:19 PM   #1

Trailer: Scamp 16 ft
Time to Wax our Scamp...whats the best?

Hello everyone,
First off, I have been lurching around on this forum for a few years now and think it is one of the best out there. Thanks for everyone’s experiences and tips!

My fiancée and me own a 16' 2010 Scamp and have a question about fiberglass wax. I have not waxed it since we brought it home from the factory in MN two years ago. Although it is always covered when not in use, it is starting to loose that "factory shine” and I would like to get it back to what it was.

So what is the best wax for fiberglass gel coat?
Should I get a buffer or orbital waxer?

I know it is mostly a matter of opinion but I would like to get some ideas. I know just about everything there is to know about waxing cars but when it comes to fiberglass this will be my first.

I imagine there are some marine/RV waxes that people have used and I would like to know who has the best experience with certain products and where can I get them.

Thanks
Chris
Christopher Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 01:44 PM   #2

Name: Tim
Trailer: 2006 Casita
New York
I've always had good luck with Meguiar's Products, I think you can get them at Walmart or any of the auto places and even Amazon. I usually get the ones for fiberglass boats etc.
Tim Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 01:49 PM   #3

Name: Dylan
Trailer: 2001 Scamp 13'
British Columbia
I'm looking at doing my first exterior make over too. Although I think mine has 9 more years of oxidation than your finacee's!

Poliglow and RedMaxx floor wax seem to be very popular "waxes". Similar effects it seems, but the floor wax is dramatically less expensive, if less proven, and possibly prone to yellowing in some cases.