UHaul Refrigerator Gasket - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-04-2011, 12:14 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
UHaul Refrigerator Gasket

Newbie here with lots of questions. My new CT13 has a very stiff icebox gasket. I'm wondering if a replacement is readily available or if anyone has found other workarounds. I know that BMW sells a liquid softener that works on rubber parts on cars to keep them soft, but this gasket seems to be a soft plastic.

Thanks in advance.
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:59 PM   #2

Trailer: Bigfoot Silver Cloud -1988
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin A
Sorry I can't help you with the original gasket, but my guess is that it is dried out beyond all help. You will probably need to search around websites that carry gaskets for other trailer fridges or small dorm fridges. One of those gaskets may be able to be cut to fit. You might check out an old style hardware store, too. They often carry strange old things that might work. Or, as we did, replace your ice box with a small dorm fridge. We had to cut the hole slightly larger, but it is great having cold food and pop! Ours is electric (110) only, but I know Dometic has 3-way fridges for gas/12v/110v. We got ours at WalMart.
Kevin A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:18 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. We plan to mostly dry camp, so that means ice or an LP 'fridge. And I know how much an LP fridge is - half the cost I have in this camper.

I researched it a bit and one recommendation was to wipe the seal down with mineral oil. So I tried that and will check it in the AM to see if it helped. If nothing else, I'll find something close and modify it to fit.
Old 12-09-2011, 10:41 AM   #4

Did the mineral oil work?
Old 12-09-2011, 11:22 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin A View Post
Did the mineral oil work?